Thursday, September 2, 2010

UFC 119 Indy Preview

On September 25, 2010 in Indianapolis, Indiana, Frank Mir and Mirko Cro Cop will fight in the main event of UFC 119 at the Conseco Fieldhouse. This PPV event will also feature free pre-lim fights on Spike TV.

For Mirko Cro Cop (27-7-2), a win over Frank Mir would be the biggest of his UFC career. Cro Cop, a former K-1 kickboxer, has had a rocky road in the UFC, going 4-3. Cro Cop has defeated the likes of Pat Barry, Anthony Perosh and Eddie Sanchez in the UFC. Expect Cro Cop to be defending the takedown and looking to use his kicks.
(Cro Cop head kick of Wanderlei Silva)

In Pride, Cro Cop was in his prime, winning the 2006 Open Weight Grand Prix with TKO wins over Minowaman, Hidehiko Yoshida, Wanderlei Silva and Josh Barnett. Cro Cop also has KO wins over Igor Vovchanchyn, Mark Coleman and Aleksander Emelianenko.

Frank Mir (13-5) is in need of a win to remain relevent in the UFC after dropping his past two high profile contests via TKO to Shane Carwin and Brock Lesnar, mixing in submission win against Cheick Kongo. Mir should look to use the same strategy he used against Kongo on Cro Cop, looking for takedowns and submissions early and often.
(Mir knee-bar of Brock Lesnar)

Mir earned fame in the mixed martial arts world for his arm breaking submission of Tim Sylvia to claim the UFC Heavyweight title at UFC 48. After the win, Mir was stripped of his title after a devastating motorcycle accident. Mir's second career defining moment came after kneebarring Brock Lesnar at UFC 81. Mir has other wins over Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira for the interim UFC title, Pete Williams and Roberto Traven.

Ryan Bader will be fighting Antonio Rogerio Nogueira in the co-main event. Bader, the TUF 8 LHW champ, is an all-american wrestler from Arizona State University. Bader (11-0, 4-0 UFC) has two KO's and two decision wins in his time in the UFC.
(Ryan Bader Promo Pic)

Antonio Nogueira (19-3, 2-0 UFC), aka the Lil Nog, is coming off a controversial split decision win over Jason Brilz. The striker and BJJ blackbelt has KO wins over Alistair Overeem, Luis Cane and Vladdy Matyushenko. His other victories include Dan Henderson, Guy Mezger and Kazushi Sakuraba.

Here is a look at the full line-up of bouts:


Mirko "Cro Cop" Filipovic v. Frank Mir
Ryan Bader v. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira
Chris Lytle v. Matt Serra
Evan Dunham v. Sean Sherk
Melvin Guillard v. Jeremy Stephens


C.B. Dollaway v. Joe Doerksen
Joey Beltran v. Matt Mitrione

PRELIMS (Select bouts air on delay if time allows)

Pat Audinwood v. Thiago Tavares
Steve Lopez v. Waylon Lowe
T.J. Grant v. Julio Paulino
Mark Hunt v. Sean McCorkle

No comments: